Back to Cape Town

Stating awake until 01:50 was not easy and despite taking a sleeping pill after take off, I was still awake enough for ‘dinner’. We had the rigatoni with romesco sauce and mozzarella. Mainly I wanted the meal for the dried fig and nougat mousse which was divine. After sharing a bottle of wine with Dave I reclined my seat and went to sleep.

Flight TK44 is an Airbus A350-900 with a 3:3:3 configuration. Given how many people had entire rows to themselves it would have been great if they split it up to two people per row. But as I had no one in front of me or behind me, reclining was not an issue. But I did not get much sleep.

Breakfast was awful! We were served the same salad as for supper, but by now the tomato had wept! My su börek was wet pastry with no spinach and given Dave’s reaction to the eggs and yoghurt, I left them. At least the roll was warm, the sour cherry juice cold and the coffee hot.

Landing and exiting the plane was smooth. I went through the E gate which was slower than Dave seeing a border official. Both the person helping me and the one who stamped Dave’s passport were friendly. And I’m glad to have been part of the pilot programme getting the E gates working. They will be speedier for sure once all are operational.

The luggage took longer than usual. But we were only a few minutes later than planned for the concierge. It was straight home for coffee and a shower and by 14:30 I had unpacked and sorted everything out, including a load of laundry.

Leave a comment